Skip to main content

Research team and support

BRANZ ran BEES with assistance from multi-disciplinary subcontractors, partners and postgraduate students - including some who have received BEES scholarships. A Governance and a Steering Group maintained the integrity of the project from both a scientific and stakeholder perspective and ensured maximum outcomes.

BRANZ team and subcontractors


  • Lynda Amitrano, Sustainable Built Environment Manager
  • Dr Michael Babylon, Scientist
  • Dr Lee Bint, Scientist
  • Nikki Buckett, Building Technologist
  • Lisa Burrough, Building Energy Scientist
  • Nigel Isaacs, Principal Scientist
  • Andrew Pollard, Building Physicist
  • Johannes Roberti, Environmental Scientist


  • Kay Saville-Smith
  • Ruth Fraser

Energy Solutions

  • Rob Bishop

Centre for Building Performance Research, Victoria University of Wellington

  • Dr Michael Donn

Consulting Statistician

  • John Jowett

BEES Governance Group

The BEES Governance Group had representatives from the Department of Building and Housing (now the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment), EECA and BRANZ Ltd.

In addition, observers from Statistics New Zealand, the Ministry of Economic Development, Ministry for the Environment, Ministry for Science and Innovation and the Electricity Authority provided key links into other agencies with an interest in the research and its results.

BEES Steering Group

Representatives for industry and wider stakeholders provide expertise, knowledge and input into the project design and operation through the BEES Steering Group:

  • Jason Happy - Kiwi Income Property Trust
  • Professor George Baird - School of Architecture, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Associate Professor Deborah Levy - Department of Property, University of Auckland
  • Norman Smith - Rocky Mountain Institute (New Zealand)
  • Kees Brinkman - Enercom